top of page

Possibility of Our Lives Changing Forever

So today (CD 14) we did our first IUI!!!

Just to recap, I did 5 days of Clomid and an hCg trigger shot on Saturday night.

At Friday's (CD 11) progess appointment, the doctor said that my uterine lining was thick and that my left ovary responded better to the Clomid. He didn't tell me how many follicles I had, but he measured three of them with the largest being 18mm. He wanted to wait one extra day to give them the chance to get a little bigger. Follicles will grow at a rate of 2mm/day once they reach 12mm in diameter.

So Saturday (CD 12) evening we administered the hCg trigger shot. It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It did burn when the medicine went in and is still a little tender, but nothing I can't handle.

The Clomid was okay as well. The other real side effect that I had was crazy hot flashes. Man, I wouln't wish those on my worst enemy. Even though they don't last long, they are still pretty crazy.

Okay, so back to today. The actual IUI went well, it took a little longer than usual because the catheter wouldn't stay curved long enough to get to where it needed to be. It wasn't painful at all. The only reason I was uncomfortable is because you have to go in with a full bladder and they use abdomenal ultrasound to see and they push on your bladder. Man, I really had to pee. All in all, it wasn't bad. As far as after the procedure, I just had mild cramping all day. To me, it felt like ovulation pain, which makes sense.

Anyways, they injected 17.1 million sperm with 75% motility, which comes out to about 12 million good swimmers. They put them right at the opening of my tubes were eggs should be.

Now, I have to wait the dreaded TWW. Except this one will be more agonizing. I can take a pregnancy test on June 23. It is so surreal that we have finally arrived at this moment. The fact that today we possibly could be changing our lives forever is beyond belief.

All I can do is hurry up and wait at this moment.

Meet the Couple 

Josh & Jessica's Story

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page