top of page

Same Story; Different Month

Well here we are again; cycle day 1!!!

Sorry I haven't written in a while. I wanted to wait until I had something to write about. So from my last post, I talked about having a follow up appointment with the fertility doctor. It went well, he basically talked about our options and what would be the best for our situation. At my first visit they did blood work to test my ovarian reserve. I don't quite remember the level, but he said he would have expected to see more in my reserves for a 29 year old. But he wasn't concerned with the number that was there.

I was left with instructions to call on CD1, so that's what I did. So on CD 3 (Thursday) I will begin taking Clomid for 5 days. On CD 11 - June 5 I will go in for an ultrasound & bloodwork. If he likes what he sees, I will do an hCg Trigger Shot and the IUI (interuterine insemenation) will be done on Sunday, June 7.

So there you have it. I am excited to finally get this ball rolling. If I had it my way I would have already had this done. In doing the IUI, it will increase our chances of conceiving back to the normal level of 20% - currently we are 3% chance since it has been over a year.

So for the next couple of weeks I will be trying my hardest to stay stress free. I have some other blogs that I read and they have mentioned several things to do to get ready for IUI. One of them is called the Pineapple Theory - which I love pineapples. It is said that this tasty fruit contains an enzyme called Bromelain, that breaks up proteins that inhibit implantation of a fertilized egg. Now it is important to note that following this pineapple regime is not exclusively centered on the juicy goodness of the whole pineapple, you also have to eat the pineapple core, which contains a higher concentration of Bromelain. This tentative theory includes specific instructions of when to eat the pineapple based on the method of conception. Here goes:

  • IVF: divide a whole pineapple into 5 portions. Eat a portion a day over five days, beginning on the day of your embryo transfer.

  • IUI: divide a whole pineapple into 5 portions. Eat a portion a day over five days, beginning on the day of your IUI.

  • Old-fashioned Intercourse: divide a whole pineapple into 5 portions. Eat a portion a day over five days, beginning on the day after ovulation.

There has been no scientific proof that this works. I mean it could be an old wives tale, but it couldn't hurt right?

If the procedure is successful, I will be finding out very close to my 30th birthday (July 2) which would be the best present I will have ever received.

I will make sure to not wait so long in between posts. Hopefully we will have good news this month! Prayers are very much appreciated.

Until next time...


Meet the Couple 

Josh & Jessica's Story

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page